On This Page
- General Statement
- Vehicle Registration & Parking
- Driving & Vehicle Use
- Violations, Citations, Fines, Appeals
- Citation Appeals
- Vehicle FAQs
Authority & Jurisdiction
The Biola University Department of Campus Safety has the responsibility and authority to administer the traffic policy for the institution and to control traffic and parking on campus accordingly. The California vehicle code confers the right to Biola University to control traffic and parking on campus. All individuals who register a vehicle with Campus Safety or operate a vehicle on the Biola campus shall abide by the rules set down by this vehicle code and the regulations of the California vehicle code.
California law requires that every owner and driver of a motor vehicle in this state maintain financial responsibility through liability insurance coverage. Any other means of financial responsibility must be approved by the Department of Motor Vehicles. Anyone who registers a vehicle or drives on Biola property must meet this requirement.
Biola University does not assume responsibility for any damage to a vehicle due to theft, vandalism, flood, fire or accident.
Permission to Park and Operate a Vehicle on Campus
A parking permit does not guarantee or reserve a place to park. It does give license to drive and park on Biola property in the manner prescribed by this Vehicle Code. Parking permits are required at all times for vehicles parked on Biola property. These privileges may be revoked at any time at the discretion of the university.
Control of University Roads and Parking Lots
The university reserves the right to close any campus parking area when it is necessary for maintenance, safety, or to meet special needs. When possible, notices will be posted indicating the closure.
Suspension of Privileges
The privilege to operate or park a vehicle on campus may be suspended to preserve the safety of the campus at the discretion of the chief of campus safety.
Vehicle Registration & Parking
All vehicles parked on campus by students or employees must be registered with the Campus Safety department and display a valid permit at all times. Vehicles that are unregistered or do not display a permit are not permitted to park on campus. Visitors may obtain a permit free of charge from the Campus Safety office or at an entrance gate-house. After hours, visitors may obtain a one-day permit at the Communications Center located in the Campus Safety office. It is unlawful to forge, fabricate or alter a parking permit. Parking permits are not transferable and may be used only by the driver and the vehicle they were issued to.
Parking permits are required for all students who drive to Biola’s main campus, regardless of whether or not the vehicle will be parked on campus. Permits must be displayed on the lower driver side exterior of the rear windshield. Permits on convertible vehicles, camper shells, etc. may be displayed on the driver side of the rear bumper. Permits must be removed from their backing and adhered directly to the window; they may not be taped or affixed by any other methods. Permits may not be transferred to another vehicle.
Student Parking Permit Fees
- Undergraduate: $140/term
- Graduate: On campus 2 or more days per week — $100/term
- Graduate: On campus only 1 day per week — $50/term
- Graduate: On campus less than 8 days during the term — $20/term
Temporary permits (all students):
Only regular employees and faculty may obtain and use a staff permit. Student employees may not use a staff permit to park on campus. Permits must be displayed on the lower driver side exterior of the rear windshield. Permits on convertible vehicles, camper shells, etc. may be displayed on the driver side of the rear bumper. Permits must be removed from their backing and adhered directly to the window; they may not be taped or affixed by any other methods. Permits may not be transferred to another vehicle.
Permits are required for visitors at all times. Permits are to be placed on the driver side dashboard. Department guests, vendors and other special groups may obtain a visitor permit from the department they are visiting.
Visitor permits for the day may be obtained from the entrance gatehouses when staffed. Visitor permits for up to one week may be obtained from the Campus Safety Office during business hours. After hours, visitors may obtain a one day permit from the Communications Center located in the Campus Safety building. Instructions for after hours assistance are posted on the front of the building.
Visitor permits allow parking in spaces marked "Visitor" and in any unmarked student space. The “Prospective Student Parking” spaces in parking Lot D are for Admissions guests and require a special permit from Admissions.
Departments may order permits for their guests through the "departmental parking permit request" form on my.biola.edu. Permits must be ordered a minimum of seven (7) business days in advance.
Current and former students, alumni and staff members do not qualify for visitor permits and may not park in visitor parking areas. Only visitors to the university displayed a visitor permit may park in visitor parking area.
Student, staff and alumni may obtain temporary permits for short-term use.
Students who have purchased a parking permit may obtain a permit for the temporary use of an alternate vehicle at no charge.
Students who have not purchased a parking permit or wish to temporarily bring an additional vehicle to campus may purchase permits for temporary use of a vehicle for up to seven times per term in one-day, one-week, or 1-month increments. Additional use of temporary permits requires the purchase of a parking permit for the entire term.
Temporary permits valid for up to one month may be obtained from the Campus Safety office. The communications center and gatehouses issue temporary permits valid for one day only.
Alumni Parking Permits
Alumni parking permits are only issued to Biola graduates with an alumni ID card who are not enrolled in classes. A permit may be obtained from the Campus Safety office during business hours.
- Vehicles displaying an alumni permit may park in parking spaces/lots open to student parking. Alumni permits do not allow parking in visitor spaces.
- Alumni must abide by the regulations set down by this vehicle code.
- Alumni registered for classes or inactive student status must buy a student parking permit and return alumni permits to the Campus Safety office.
- An alumni parking permit is for the exclusive use of the alumnus it is registered to.
Use of an alumni parking permit by a current student is not permitted and will result in fines.
Lost Parking Permits
If a parking permit is lost or stolen, a lost/stolen permit report must be completed before a replacement will be issued. A $50 replacement fee will be assessed for all lost permits. Filing false report will result in disciplinary action and a fine. Recovered permits must be returned to the Campus Safety office.
An unregistered vehicle may be subject to a check with the California Department of Motor Vehicles or other agency, or towing from campus. If university students or employees have unregistered vehicles on campus, they will be responsible for all costs involved in towing charges, and the cost of verification of ownership through the appropriate agency. Any previously unbilled citations may be billed to the student's account. Faculty and staff members may also be held responsible for any previously unbilled citations.
Selling or Transfer of a Registered Vehicle
When selling a vehicle that has a Biola parking permit, the original owner must notify the Campus Safety office within five working days. If not, any citations received are the responsibility of the owner. If the vehicle is cited while under operation of a person other than who it is registered to, the driver of the vehicle will be held responsible.
Curbs are stenciled to designate parking restrictions where they are present.
|Faculty/ Staff||"Faculty/Staff Only" stenciled on gray curb or wheel stop. Vehicles must display a faculty/staff permit to park in spaces designated "faculty/staff only" from 7 a.m.–5 p.m., Monday–Friday.|
|Visitor Parking||"Visitor" stenciled on gray curb or wheel stop. Vehicles must display a visitor permit to park in spaces designated "visitor" from 7 a.m.–5 p.m., Monday–Friday.|
|Green Curb||Temporary parking. Time limit is 30 minutes unless otherwise specified by sign or curb stenciling.|
|White Curb||Passenger loading/unloading only. Time limit is 5 minutes. Vehicle may not be left unattended.|
|Yellow Curb||Passenger or equipment loading/unloading only. Time limit is 20 minutes. Vehicle may not be left unattended.|
|Red Curb||Emergency vehicles only. No parking or stopping at any time. Red curbs are not for loading/unloading vehicles.|
|Plain Curb||Open parking (any Biola permit).|
Note: Consult the following section, "Lot Designations & Restrictions," and/or posted signs.
Lot Designations & Restrictions
The following is a listing of parking lot designations and restrictions. Restrictions are enforced 7 a.m.–5 p.m. Monday–Friday. "Open" indicates that spaces are available for any vehicle displaying a valid Biola permit. "Staff" and "Visitor" indicates that some spaces in the lot are restricted.
|Lot A||Open Parking & Staff Parking|
|Lot B||Open Parking & Staff Parking|
|Lot C||Open Parking & Staff Parking|
|Lot D||Visitor Parking Only & Reserved Parking Only|
|Lot E||Open Parking|
|Lot F||Staff Parking only|
|Lot G||Open Parking|
|Lot H||Open Parking & Staff Parking|
|Lot I||Open Parking|
|Lot J||Open Parking & Staff Parking|
|Lot K||Open Parking|
|Lot L||Open Parking|
|Lot M||Open Parking|
|Lot N||Open Parking & Staff Parking|
|Lot O||Staff Parking only|
|Lot P||Open Parking|
|Lot R||Open Parking & Staff Parking|
|Lot S||Open Parking|
Parking at Biola-owned off-campus apartments used for Student housing is by permit only. These permits are issued at no charge. Off-campus parking permits are not valid for on-campus parking.
Vehicles may not be stored on campus property without prior written approval from Campus Safety. Persons wishing to store a vehicle on campus must:
- Display a valid student or staff parking permit. Only current students or staff may store a vehicle on campus. Alumni are not permitted to store their vehicles on campus.
- Sign and submit a release of liability form at the Campus Safety office.
- Leave a set of keys at the Campus Safety office so that the vehicle may be moved if Facilities Services projects or emergencies require it.
- Leave the car in the parking lot designated by Campus Safety.
Failure to obtain permission will result in fine(s) and/or towing of the vehicle from Biola property.
- Student vehicles must have been registered during that session, or the applicable permit fee will be charged.
- Students must remove all vehicles from Biola if they are no longer enrolled in the current school semester, or when employees end employment with the university.
Motorcycles and other motorized vehicles are subject to all regulations in this code.
- Motorcycles and other motorized vehicles must park in normal vehicle parking spaces or designated motorcycle areas and have a valid parking permit.
- Motorcycles are not permitted to park in undesignated areas or on yellow or blue hash lines.
- Electric assisted bicycles,* which are considered bicycles, may park in bicycle racks.
* California vehicle code 406(b) — a "motorized bicycle" is also a device that has fully operative pedals for propulsion by human power and has an electric motor that meets all of the following requirements:
- Has a power output of not more than 1,000 watts.
- Is incapable of propelling the device at a speed of more than 20 miles per hour on ground level.
- Is incapable of further increasing the speed of the device when human power is used to propel the motorized bicycle faster than 20 miles per hour.
No person shall park or store a trailer upon any street, parking lot, or parking structure on campus except for the purpose of loading and unloading unless given permission by the Campus Safety Department. Departmental trailers must be registered with Campus Safety and display a current Biola parking permit.
Privately owned golf carts or similar vehicles may not be driven or kept on campus.
Motorized scooters may not be driven or kept on campus.
Driving & Vehicle Use
The use of a motor vehicle at Biola University must be considered a privilege with accompanying responsibilities. The safety of our campus community and the university‘s relationship with the La Mirada community are influenced by our driving choices. Inappropriate or reckless driving may be subject to disciplinary proceedings and/or the removal of on-campus driving privileges.
Speed limits on campus roads are posted and will be enforced. Further, all California driving codes are in effect on campus and will be enforced, including observance of stop signs, pedestrian right-of-way, etc.
As a safety and security precaution, vehicles (including motorcycles) may not be covered by tarps or covers at any time.
Vehicles that are inoperable or are not properly registered with the DMV will be considered abandoned after a period of three weeks from their date of discovery. These vehicles may be fined and/or towed at the owner's expense. Inoperable vehicles may not be stored on campus.
Any vehicle that is left on Biola property longer than 72 hours without a valid permit and/or prior approval to park will be considered abandoned and may be removed from campus at the owner's expense.
Auto work of any kind is not permitted on campus.
- Bicycle registration is mandatory for all students and employees who ride or park a bicycle on the Biola campus or at the Biola-owned apartments on Rosecrans Avenue.
- Bicycle registration is free, and may be done online at anytime by completing this form. Students and employees may also choose to register their bicycles in person at the Campus Safety Administrative Office.
- Each registrant will receive a bicycle identification sticker that must be affixed to the registered bike.
- Bicycles must be parked only in a bike rack and should be locked (preferably with a U-lock system).
- Bicycles must not be secured to, or rested against objects such as benches, poles, signs, trees, fences or railings.
- Bicycles must not be parked in any building lobby, hallway or room unless the area has been designated for parking. This does not prohibit a bicycle from being parked in a student’s residence hall or apartment room, or in an employee’s private office (with the approval of the department) so long as egress is not blocked or impeded.
- Cyclists are subject to motor vehicle rules of the road, such as speed limits, stop signs, signaling turns and right of way.
- Bicycles should be ridden on streets designated for cars and bike lanes wherever possible.
- Bicycles may be ridden in plaza areas and on sidewalks wider than six feet unless prohibited by signage.
- Bicycles must not be ridden on standard-sized sidewalks (between four and six feet wide), whether specifically prohibited by signage or not, and must not be ridden inside buildings.
- If ridden at night, bicycles must have a white reflector the front and a red reflector on the rear of the bicycle and must also be equipped with a forward-facing bike headlight mounted on the bicycle or worn by the cyclist.
- Pedestrians must be given the right of way at all times.
- Bicycles that do not have the required registration identification sticker will be immobilized or impounded.
- Bicycles that appear to be abandoned will be tagged with an impoundment notice and be impounded if not moved within 48 hours.
- Locking devices that are cut in the process of impounding bicycles will not be reimbursed.
- Cyclists that do not adhere to bicycle registration, parking, operation and equipment regulations may be subject to fines and possible immobilization or impoundment of bicycles. Fines will be a minimum of $20.
- Impounded bicycles not claimed by the owner within 60 days will be donated to a charity.
- At the end of the school year, students not residing on campus for summer school classes must remove their bicycles from all bike racks. Any bicycles left beyond July 31 will be donated to a charity.
Violations, Citations, Fines, Appeals
Vehicle Violation Fines
|Entering Via Vehicle Exit Gate||$100.00|
|— Up to 10 mph over limit||$60.00|
|— 11–15 mph over limit||$75.00|
|— 16–20 mph over speed limit||$85.00|
|— 21 mph + over speed limit||$95.00|
|Failure to Obey Official Parking Sign||$35.00|
|Failure to Stop at a Posted Sign||$50.00|
|Failure to Yield to Pedestrian/Vehicle/Campus Safety||$100.00|
|Illegal Parking in Designated Space||$35.00|
|Illegal Vehicle Storage — No Release of Liability on File||$35.00|
|Misuse of Permit||$100.00|
|Overtime in a Timed Zone||$35.00|
|Passing a Moving Vehicle||$55.00|
|Permit Improperly Displayed||$35.00|
|Permit not Displayed||$35.00|
|Placing Previously Issued Cite on Vehicle||$100.00|
|Reckless Driving/Misuse of Vehicle||$110.00|
|Red Zone/Fire Lane/Fire Hydrant||$100.00|
|Repeat Offense Charge 20||$20.00|
|Repeat Offense Charge 30||$30.00|
|Repeat Offense Charge 40||$40.00|
|Staff in Visitor Space||$35.00|
|Student in Faculty/Staff Space||$35.00|
|Student in Visitor Space||$35.00|
|Unsafe Vehicle Equipment||$40.00|
|Vehicle Gate Violation||$100.00|
Disabled parking: blue handicap spaces with a sign posted are for handicap parking only, including nights, weekends and holidays. Handicap parking is authorized in parking spaces with the international symbol of access, next to a blue curb and blue handicap spaces only. A valid Biola parking permit is required for parking on campus, including disabled parking.
Entering via vehicle gate exit: vehicles must enter the vehicle gate entrances.
Excessive speed: the maximum speed limit on campus is 15 miles per hour. The fine amount is determined by the speed in excess of the speed limit (see fine schedule in the table above).
Failure to obey official parking sign: all vehicles must abide by official parking signs. These include temporary parking signs/cones/barricades/tape used to designate temporary parking conditions. Officially posted signs shall supersede any prior zone or curb designation.
Failure to stop at a posted stop sign: all vehicles must come to a complete stop at all posted stop signs (sign posts and painted on road surface) on campus.
Failure to yield to a pedestrian/vehicle/Campus Safety: all vehicles must yield to approaching pedestrians, other vehicles when merging into traffic, or a Campus Safety official when necessary. Vehicles must yield to a Campus Safety patrol unit's lights and/or siren.
Helmet violation: motorcycle operators must wear a helmet at all times.
Illegal parking: vehicles must occupy only one space at a time and park within spaces designated by the appropriate color of curb, lines, or parking bumpers. Vehicles may not park along the curb boundaries of parking lots or on sidewalks. Vehicles may not park in Front of entrances to sidewalks or driveways.
Illegal vehicle storage/no release of liability on file: inoperable vehicles may not be parked or stored on campus. Vehicles stored on campus during the summer term, winter break or for any other extended period of time must adhere to the rules regarding vehicle storage (see the Vehicle Storage on Campus section above).
Illegal parking in designated space: vehicles may not park in specially designated spaces without the appropriate permit. This includes, but is not limited to spaces designated as RD/RC, Rancho/Professional Building, Campus Safety, etc.
Misuse of permit: failure to follow the rules and restrictions regarding authorized permit use (see the sections on different permit types above).
Obstructing traffic: there is no stopping, standing, or parking in a way that prevents another vehicle from moving or hinders the normal flow of traffic allowed.
Overtime in timed zone: 30 minutes is the maximum time permitted in a green zone unless otherwise specified. Yellow loading zones have a 15-minute maximum time limit. White loading zones have a 5-minute maximum time limit.
Passing a moving vehicle: with the exception of passing a university cart or a bicycle that has acknowledged your Intentions to pass and there is no oncoming traffic, passing a moving vehicle is never permitted on campus roads.
Permit Expired: vehicles must display a current parking permit.
Permit improperly displayed: all parking permits must be properly displayed. The proper placement for all permits is as follows:
|Student Permits, Faculty/Staff Permits and Alumni Permits||Display on the exterior rear window — lower driver side. For vehicles without a rear window, or when the permit may be obscured in this location the permit should be displayed on the rear bumper — driver side. Permits must be affixed using the adhesive backing and may not be taped or displayed inside the vehicle.|
|Temporary (paper) permits:||Should be displayed face-up on the dashboard with the dates and all other information visible.|
Permit not displayed: all vehicles parked on campus must display a valid parking permit.
Placing previously issued cite on vehicle: a previously issued citation shall not be placed on a vehicle to give the appearance that the vehicle has already received a citation.
Reckless driving / misuse of vehicle: vehicles driven in an unsafe manner including, but not limited to, driving outside of established traffic lanes or off-road and speed in excess of 25 MPH over the posted limit, are considered reckless. Misuse of vehicle includes, but is not limited to, use of a vehicle for other than its designed purpose that is deemed unsafe, operation in prohibited areas, transport of too many passengers or in the bed of a pickup truck, overloading a vehicle and towing of items or persons outside the provisions established by law.
Red zones / fire lanes / fire hydrants: a vehicle may not stop or park in a red zone or fire lane at any time, whether the vehicle is attended or not. Red zones are for the use of emergency vehicles only and may not be blocked.
Skateboard violation: Riding skateboards/skates/longboards is not allowed at any time on the property of Biola University. Note: Skateboards/skates/longboards operated by students or staff members may be impounded for the safety of the community.
Staff in visitor space: staff/faculty may not park in visitor spaces between the hours of 7 a.m. and 5 p.m. (weekends and holidays excepted).
Student in faculty/staff space: students may not park in staff/faculty spaces between the hours of 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. (weekends and holidays excepted).
Student in visitor space: students may not park in visitor spaces between the hours of 7 a.m. and 5 p.m. (weekends and holidays excepted).
Unsafe vehicle equipment: all vehicles on campus must comply with state safety regulations. If a citation is issued to a vehicle for unsafe vehicle equipment, the owner must show proof of repairs within two weeks of the issue date of the citation. Failure to do so may result in suspension of parking and driving privileges.
Vehicle gate violation: attempting to open, raise, alter, avoid, or otherwise circumvent entrance gate arms or other motorized vehicle gates is prohibited. When entrance gate arms are down, all drivers must swipe their Biola ID card or stop at the gatehouse before entering campus.
Waiver violation: falsifying a waiver request or driving a vehicle to campus without purchasing a permit may result in a fine.
The following fine schedule will be enforced for all violations:
|1st offense||Scheduled base fine|
|2nd offense||Scheduled base fine|
|3rd offense||Scheduled base fine plus $20.00|
|4th offense||Scheduled base fine plus $30.00|
|5th offense||Scheduled base fine plus $40.00|
For instructions and to submit an appeal click here.
Appeals must be submitted within two weeks (14 days) of the date the citation was issued.
Denied appeals may be submitted to the Chief of Campus Safety for further review. Contact the Campus Safety office at (562) 903-4877 for more information
Students, Staff, & Faculty
Citations may be appealed online. Click on “Citations” to see your recent citations.
Appeals must be made online within 14 days of the date that the citation was issued. Contact the Campus Safety office at (562) 903-4877 with any questions.
Please click here to appeal your citation online.
Appeals must be made online within 14 days of the date that the citation was issued. Contact the Campus Safety office at (562) 903-4877 with any questions.
- Do I need a parking permit to park on campus? Parking permits are required at all times for every vehicle parked on Biola property. This includes all students, staff/faculty and visitors even if the vehicle is only being driven temporarily. Parking privileges may be revoked at any time at the discretion of the University. Refer the Annual Security and Fire Safety Report for further information.
- How can I get a parking permit if your office is closed? If you cannot make it to our Administrative Office during business hours, you can obtain a temporary permit from our Communications Center located in middle Metzger. They are open 24 hours a day / seven days a week. You may also obtain a permit from any gatehouse when entering on Biola Avenue or La Mirada Avenue between the hours of 9 p.m.–5 a.m. and 7:30 a.m.–4 p.m. weekdays during the semester.
- Can I leave my car on campus during the Summer or Christmas Holiday Break? Vehicles may not be stored on campus property without prior written approval from Campus Safety. Persons wishing to store a vehicle on campus must:
- Be a current Biola student or staff/faculty member
- Display a current parking permit
- Sign a release of liability form
- Leave a set of keys with Campus Safety so that the vehicle may be moved if Facilities Services projects or emergencies require it.
- Can I bring a car to campus temporarily if I received a waiver of the semester parking permit fee for not driving a vehicle to campus? Students who received a waiver of the permit fee may bring a vehicle to campus for up to seven total days in a term. A temporary permit must be purchased for these days. The cost for the permit is prorated by month. Temporary permits may be purchased for $10.00 per week or $3.00 per day, up to a total of 7 days. Bringing a vehicle to campus for more than seven days in a term requires the purchase of a permit for the entire term. For more information please contact the Campus Safety Administrative Office.
- Can I park anywhere on campus? All vehicles must be parked in a marked stall. Lot signs and curb stencils indicate designated parking. Vehicles displaying student permits may park in any undesignated parking space. Vehicles displaying alumni permits may park in any undesignated parking space. Vehicles displaying staff/faculty permits may park in any designated staff parking space or undesignated parking space. Vehicles displaying visitor permits may park in any designated visitor parking space or undesignated parking space.
- Can I park in a Red Zone if I am loading/unloading my vehicle? No, Red Zones are for emergency vehicles only. Parking regulations are strictly enforced on campus property.
- Do I have to register my bike and if so how much does a bike permit cost? All bicycles are required to be registered with Campus Safety and display a permit at all times while on campus. Permits are free and can be obtained from the Campus Safety Administrative Office during normal business hours. You will need the serial number, make, model and color of your bicycle in order to obtain a permit. Cyclists riding in the pedestrian areas of campus should use the designated bike lanes and obey all signs restricting bicycle use (such as those in front of the Library).
- May I leave my bike on campus over the summer? No, bicycles may not be left on campus over the summer, unless you are living in summer housing on campus. All bikes left on campus over the summer will be collected by Campus Safety and stored in Lost & Found for 90 days. After 90 days all unclaimed bicycles are donated to charity along with other unclaimed Lost & Found items.
- Do I need a parking permit for my motorcycle? All motorcycles must display a valid permit while on campus. Motorcycles may park in designated stalls, or any available vehicle stall. Motorcycles may not park at bike racks, on curbs, in designated cart spaces, sidewalks or any other non-parking areas.
- What should I do if I receive a citation?
- Students — All fines will be billed to the student’s account. If you believe the citation to be in error, you may appeal the citation. Instructions for appeal are on the back of the citation.
- Staff/Faculty — All citations must be paid at the Campus Safety Administrative Office within 14 business days or they will be billed to your department.
- Visitors — If you are a visitor, please come to the Campus Safety Administrative Office for further information. If you believe the citation to be in error, you may appeal the citation. Instructions for appeal are on the back of the citation.
- How do I appeal a citation? Citation appeals must be made online within 14 business days of the violation.
- How do I pay for a citation that I received? If you are a student, the fine will be billed to your student account and may be paid at the Accounting Office. If you are not a student, you may come to the Campus Safety Administrative Office to pay the fine. Only payments by cash or check are accepted (checks should be made out to Biola University).
- How much is my citation? The fine for each citation varies. See above for more information.
- What is a “Repeat Offense” charge? A repeat offense charge is an administrative fee that may be assessed on the third citation received in an academic year and every citation thereafter.