Roehampton University

Roehampton University is a federation of four colleges within two miles of each other. All are located in beautiful parklands seven miles from the center of London, with easy access to international airports. The All England Tennis Club at Wimbledon, Botanical Gardens at Kew, Hampton Court Palace, and many other historic and cultural attractions are very close by. Day trips to Windsor Castle, Stratford-upon-Avon and to famous cities such as Bath and Oxford are popular. These sites offer outstanding galleries, theatres, museums, community centers, and shops, reflecting a vast range of nationalities and cultures.

The University welcomes an approximate total of 8500 students at the undergraduate, postgraduate and doctoral level, with approximately 12 – 15 per cent having a non-UK nationality. The International Office can give you information about studying and living at Roehampton.

At Roehampton, accommodation is usually in single study bedrooms with shared bathrooms and other facilities. Most halls are co-ed; therefore, students cannot be guaranteed a single-sex environment.

Undergraduate courses

Applied Computing and Information Systems, Art, Biology, Business Studies, Drama and Theatre Studies, English, English Language & Linguistics, French, Geography, History, Humanities, Media Studies, Music, Psychology, Sociology, Theology, and Religious Studies.

*Note: It is unwise to try to take courses at Roehampton that are not in your major. English university courses are more specialized than American courses from year one. In most cases, courses taken outside one’s major should be Roehampton’s level “C” (introductory level) courses.

The Colleges

Digby Stuart College

Founded in 1874 and named after two early pioneers in Catholic education, but students and staff have a variety of denominational backgrounds or none. It is the primary location for: Drama & Theatre, English literature, language & linguistics, French, History, and Humanities.

Froebel Institute College

Founded in 1892 to promote the ideas and methods of German educator Friedrich Froebel. It is the primary location for: Art and English literature, language & linguistics.

Southlands College

Founded in 1872 to train teachers for Methodist schools, but all applicants, whatever their religious background, are welcome. It is the primary location for: Business studies, Humanities, Music, Sociology, Theology and Religious studies.

Whitelands College

Founded in 1841 to educate Anglican parochial school teachers. It is the primary location for: Applied Computing and Information Systems, Biology, French, Psychology.

All four colleges are within two miles of each other.